23:16 PM

Alumnus of Distinction Cheyanne Hammell receives 2023 Premier’s Award for Technology


Mohawk College 2023 Alumnus of Distinction Cheyanne Hammell (Architectural Technology, ’07) has been recognized with the 2023 Premier’s Award for Technology.

The Ontario government announced the winners of the Premier’s Awards for college graduates at the Colleges Ontario Higher Education Summit in Toronto earlier this week. These awards honour college leaders and graduates who have made important contributions to Ontario’s postsecondary system.

Hammell, a special projects manager with PCL Construction, is a visionary leader in the construction industry, committed to breaking down barriers for girls and women.

With more than 17 years of experience with PCL, the largest construction company in Canada, Cheyanne leads a team that provides specialized solutions for building projects. She led the design management of Lakeridge Gardens in Ajax, the first long-term care home built under Infrastructure Ontario’s accelerated build program that was completed in just 13 months. Cheyanne also led a renovation of the CN Tower observation level, replacing the tower’s 1,000-pound glass windows while ensuring the crew and Torontonians on the ground remained safe. She also actively encourages girls and women to pursue the construction field as a great career path.

For more on Cheyanne and her impressive career, watch this video from Mohawk College.

The Premier’s Awards for college graduates recognizes recent and past graduates from seven categories who have made outstanding social and economic contributions to their local communities, the province and beyond.

The full list of 2023 recipients are:

  • Carrie Baker from Humber College for Business
  • Cheyanne Hammell from Mohawk College for Technology
  • Christina Kioke from Northern College for Recent Graduate
  • Jody Porter from Centennial College for Creative Arts and Design
  • Jehan Salim from Conestoga College for Community Services
  • Saifullah Sanaye from St. Lawrence College for Apprenticeship
  • Michael Sanderson from Humber College for Health Sciences

Award recipients are chosen from nominations submitted by Ontario’s 24 public colleges. The recipients must demonstrate outstanding achievement related to their college experience and have made a significant contribution to their communities. The Premier’s Awards were launched in 1992 to mark the 25th anniversary of Ontario’s college system. The province partners with Colleges Ontario to administer the awards.